Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Handpainted Texturing - Feedback

Hi folks,
I am fairly new to painting stylised textures - but i love the ones done similar to those used for games like WOW, Jak and Daxter and Wind Waker. I have set myself a small project to model and texture this gate using two 1024 texture maps and tileable 256 maps. My main skills are in concept art and illustration - but i am looking to apply these skills to more stylised 3d modelling.
I am looking for feedback on purely the hand painted textures, texture maps and uv layouts. - rather than the model itself. any feedback and advice would be greatly appreciated.

28tdsuu.jpg
2ymbn2o.jpg
4udzb5.jpg
116rpjc.jpg
11ceg78.jpg

Replies

• chrisradsby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    chrisradsby polycounter lvl 14
    There really is no use to use the same repeating texture on the same sheet. Honestly, you've got the same thing repeating twice on the left side in both directions and then you have a small one which is also the same. You're better off just having 2-3 planks that are the same.

In the end you're just wasting space that you could use for other more unique textures in this situation. The handpainting looks good to me, the other thing I would crit would be how many polys you have on the bolts, you could get away with a lot less. Considering they don't do much for the silhouette and will add to the polycount like crazy if you have lots of them.

Good work so far though with the painting skills, it's a nice result, kind of midway through realistic and handpainted cartoony!
  • Zoltar_Speaks
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cheers for the feedback Chris!
    Would I be better off applying that 256 wood tile to the gate itself? Thinking about it, perhaps i don't need any 1024 maps, but can get away with just two 256 tiles (wood and the bricks) and one 512 for the unique lock, steel and bolts.

I'll modify my maps tomorrow and post some update shots.