Home Contests & Challenges Archives

[Stadium] Hockey, DiHydro

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
DiHydro polycounter lvl 6
edit: changed my stadium into Frozen Sludge Rink, I'm not too experienced with Unity's materials yet so I don't think I'd execute my idea well. The holidays ate up my time and now the end date has been changed so I am gonna try and finish as much as I can.

Hi everyone, I've been a long time frequenter here at Polycount, but have never really posted anything and have always looked from the outside. So I decided to created a new account here to enter this awesome challenge. May this be the first to many that will come in the future.

So my idea is hockey with a twist. Instead of having an ice hockey rink, the mutants will be slip and sliding around in a sludge rink. Here is what I have so far in terms of concept. I'll probably do some more research and get my ideas finalized. Thoughts much appreciated :)

mutantleagueenvironment.jpg

Replies

• DiHydro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I've been modeling here and there and for now I have a clean base that I can work off of.

sludgerinkwip01.jpg

I am starting to add pipes surrounding the rink which will have fluids leaking from it.
    I want to maintain that professional feel of sports broadcasts and at the same time give the messiness of a mutant battle may even look at some real steel for some reference.
  • DiHydro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I've compiled some more reference images, I'm getting different ideas flying around in my head and am gradually deciding on one (I have a habit of jumping around too much.)

mlreferencecompile.jpg

The texturing on my rink wall so far...

sludgerinkwip02.jpg

I'm planning on moving the UVs on the glass around so that the cracks are more unique per wall.
  • Jeff Parrott
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeff Parrott polycounter lvl 19
    Raise the glass behind the nets up some.

2807902.jpg
  • DiHydro