Home Unreal Engine

Need help with UDK hatching material

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Pangahas polycounter lvl 10
Hi So I'm playing around with the UDK material editor to come up with a hatching shader. Here is what I ended up with.
screenshot1.jpg
I increased the UV tiling to make it easier to see the first one has the hatching texture multiplied on the shadowed areas while the second one only has the hatching effect on the parts where light hits.

Here is how it is setup.I'm kind of new to this so I'm not entirely sure if I'm doing it right.

screenshot2.jpg
screenshot3.jpg

For the hatch texture I quickly made one in Photoshop deleted the white parts and saved it as png. when I imported it I did not check the options encircled thinking it would make the texture transparent on those part I deleted.But apparently when I applied it, it is still not transparent(circled part on screenshot 1)

So my question is how do I make the alpha for that texture?what am I doing wrong?What node do I need to add?

One more thing I can't seem to figure it out but I want my hatching texture to not appear on parts that are lighted but only on the shadowed areas..Number 2 basically but in reverse. Would Anyone with more experience with UDK materials kindly help me with this? I would be using this for a scene I'm planning to make.

Replies

• Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    I'm a little confused as to what you're asking for with the pictures, so for now, I'll assume you want your image to have the traditional hatch and sketch effect? Like this:

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUwY4D5cl6o&feature=related"]Hatching Shader - Non Photorealistic Rendering - YouTube[/ame]

The Alpha issue is showing up because your Alpha is an Alpha being treated like a texture. It's not being fed into any masking options. You already have your Lerp node's Alpha occupied with the Light Vector node.