Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UDK ] Sci-Fi Facility WIP [first post]

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
reaxion polycounter lvl 12
Hey Polycount,

Finally my first post. Short intro, I'm in my last year of college studying Game Development but find myself focusing most of my time on environment art related tasks.

This is a scene in UDK that I am working on , trying to make each environment I work on count as I complete this course in April. Hope to work eventually in teh games industry as an environment artist and am here to get there.

I did this scene using modular assets and 1x2048 texture for the main assets so far and 1x512 for the signage. 2 materials in total. This was completed in 2 days.

blueB_F3.jpg
blueB_F2.jpg

Replies

• Oniram
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oniram polycounter lvl 17
    i think overall the execution of this is good. especially for 2 days, but you really need to focus on lighting now. everything is pretty dark in the scene, and you should try to find a balance of light and dark.

take a look at this thread and watch how the scene progresses.
  • snake85027
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    snake85027 polycounter lvl 18
    I think the scale of the moon is way to large, if the moon was really that close wouldn't the scene be a 1000 times brighter? move the placement back farther.
  • PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    try to avoid the sereotypical scifi cameron blue for night, it worked in aliens, but most of the time it looks overpowering. a subtle cooler tone for your ambiet would be better and allow all those scifi lights to blend color together to make a more appealing image.
  • SirCalalot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SirCalalot polycounter lvl 10
    This is looking pretty good. The art style reminds me of the original Perfect Dark for the N64 :)

Constructive criticism: