Home Technical Talk

Head Topology

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Nemecys polycounter lvl 9
Hey Guys, i'm looking for some opinions and critique on the topology of my head, bare in mind its not finished, but i seem to be stuck in my ways.

By this i mean, in the area of the cheek, i always seem to cause the loop to flow up the mouth and then up around the ear, I have had a look at other game title head models such as Dom and Marcus from Gears of War, and they don't do the same thing as i do.

So now my real questions are this;

-Is this bad topology?
-Will it cause my mesh to deform incorrectly?
-What is an acceptable Polycount for a head like this in as a low poly for use in UDK?

P.S. Im a uni student and this is our first attempt at creating base high and low poly meshes, so forgive my newbiness

Cos9J.jpg

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    It's hard to say without a front view.

Most of the critical loops in the face are for animation and run around the eyes and the mouth so its hard to tell from the side. Not much animation going on in the back or side of the head so they can be messier without much effect on the facial acting.

Overall it looks a little dense for a character you would see in a cut/cinematic scene in games and definitely in need of optimization for a character you would see running around next to you in a game. It looks like you have loops in most of the right places (can't tell for certain without a front shot) so removing a few extra loops would be pretty easy, hopefully, if not you might want to rethink a few loops and poles so they can be up/down res'ed easily without effecting the UV layout or the deformation.

Personally I work with meshes about that dense every day, animating facial expressions and character dialog so it seems prefect for what we do, but our engine is mostly per-rendered so what we do doesn't really apply to most games, especially one running on ancient xbox hardware, like most games today are forced to do...