Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Mazda RX8

Akai
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Akai polycounter lvl 10
Hi!, this is my first time showing some work in a forum. I'm glad to share my mistakes and pay attention of your advices.

The mesh that im going to do is from an school assignment, it consists in making a functional and non destructed vehicle and once finished making the destroyed version. The assignment includes mesh and textures, difuse, normal and specular.

The mesh is unfinished so there are a lot of mistakes like unfinished loops and also the mesh is not correctly organized yet. I still don't know if is a good way of work making all the mesh and then organize it accurately or try to put every loop in the perfect position

Thank you for your attention and advices.

Some references of the vehicle

2008_mazda_rx8_facelift.jpg

mazda-rx8-1.jpg

The blue prints:

mazdarx8v.jpg

Screenshots during the process:

wip1ia.jpg

wip2f.jpg

wip3l.jpg

wip4a.jpg

wip5.jpg

wip6s.jpg

Replies

• CandyStripes05
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CandyStripes05 polycounter lvl 9
    are you making this a high or low poly model?
  • Akai
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Akai polycounter lvl 10
    The mesh is supossed to be exported into UDK, so it has to be for low poly, but i really don't know how many polys has a car for a racing game, im very far away from the 200k polys of forza. I want to finish it with 25k polys, and then reduce it.
  • Brendan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brendan polycounter lvl 8
    Some tips for modeling cars (can be applied elsewhere)

1: Anything that is one surface, is modeled as one surface. As you can see from the reference pics, both doors form (when closed) one smooth shape, that continues to the boot. You do this so that reflections look 1000% better on the final model because you'll have better edge flow and more accurate supporting loops.