Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

District 9 Exosuit

watch?v=kM6g3eZRrCYHi everyone. This is my first post on Polycount so let me introduce myself first. I'm a student in 3D animation at Nad Center in Montreal and our class is currently working on a fake game footage a hypothetical D9 game and I took on the challenge of making the exosuit which was quite a mess to organise in terms of pieces but I managed.

We don't have alot of time left and still many things to do but I was hoping to get your opinion on my model/Animation. If there's a few small details that I could correct I will gladly do them.

In the fake game footage it will only be seen from the front.
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kM6g3eZRrCY"]http://youtu.be/kM6g3eZRrCY?hd=1[/ame]

Exosuit_Shading_A03.jpg
1.jpg

Replies

• Lucas Annunziata
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lucas Annunziata polycounter lvl 13
    Hey there Maxxe! I've competed against a few people from the Nad Center at MIGS in various competitions in the past two years, representing Champlain College.

Anyway, I don't know what your polycount/poly limit is for this piece, but there are definitely areas that can be cleaned up. it's kinda hard to see, but it seems like a lot of areas your putting geometry into that could be taken care of with a normal map, like the cod piece area, and some of the cylindrical things in the back. Did you make a high poly for this?

The animation is looking good though.
  • Maxxe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nice I competed too at MIGS for the past 2 years and won First place in the Zbrush competition this year and the Autodesk team challenge last year :D

To answer your question, yes I did a high poly and baked everything. Since this is for a fake game footage we need to use a game's approach for the model but we really not that constraint in terms of tris and textures.