Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Road to Bastille

3dmangini
null
Hey everyone.

I am a student in my graduating quarter at the Art Institute - San Diego and I wanted to share some of my work with you all. The scene was modeled in Max/Zbrush and rendered in UDK.

I made use of tiled textures and modular wall pieces for most of the architecture as well as tons of decals to remove the "tiled" look.

I don't have much time left to make changes but any recommendations or critiques are welcome.

Thanks

rtb1.jpg

rtb2.jpg

rtb3.jpg

rtb4.jpg

Replies

• CrackRockSteady
    Looks really good! The only thing that stands out immediately is there is a pretty obvious lightmap seam in the tunnel under the clock.

Are you planning to post any wireframes or textures?
  • 3dmangini
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    3dmangini null
    Thanks for the reply. I'll have wireframe and texture breakdowns ready soon.

And that lightmap issue will be fixed as well, there are a few of them lurking in the scene.
  • Samfisher84
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Samfisher84 polycounter lvl 9
    looks really cool, give us some texture planes and modular pieces?
  • sltrOlsson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sltrOlsson polycounter lvl 14
    I think it looks super! I feel that you can do more with the lighting. Have you tweeked and used the SSAO? Have you played around with the lighmass settings?

It feels like that corner with the stands don't get there appropriate focus. .
  • ParoXum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ParoXum polycounter lvl 9
    Road looks too bright compared to the rest of the pavements.

It looks like you symmetry'ed the main building which is good, but you can see the texture flipping in the middle.
  • Shogun3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shogun3d polycounter lvl 12