Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sword Of A Thousand Truths- WIP- Critiques Please!

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
gannonroader polycounter lvl 8
Hey guys, I've been deep into skyrim the past couple days, and it's really screaming at me to make some mods for fun and portfolio pieces, but mostly for fun. I started by making the "sword of a thousand truths" from south parks "make love, not warcraft" episode. I was hoping you guys could give me some constructive input on what I have so far. I would like to be able to take this into mudbox and start adding some fine details but I don't think the existing model I have right now is going to be much use in there as it won't subdivide properly.

Any help is appreciated, and please don't tear the model apart too bad. This is my first time doing something like this, so I would be amazed if I get it right first try, but hopefully by the end of this, I'll have an awesome sword to give to the community. I know the creation kit hasn't been released yet either.

1000sword2.jpg

1000sword.jpg

Replies

• gannonroader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    really? nobody?
  • Cody
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cody polycounter lvl 15
    Haha, I'll bite then. With a name like that, it should be more epic. I'd make the blade bigger. The skull looks a bit cutesy. I'd lay the the image over the model and see how you can make it look meaner. Get to it, son!
  • Santhem
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The main thing to make the eyes meaner is to to make it curved. You'll want the section of the "eyebrow" to be sticking out, the eyes hiding under that. Then make extra attention that the V shape above the nose sticks out, and you will be sure to get a much meaner facial expression.

Same goes for the mouth, make the nose stick out compared to the mouth.
    Your biggest flaw here is the skull being too flat, a skull is rounded! :)

Good luck!