Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

I need some critiques, if you please.

Ok, a quick back story:

I graduated with an associates degree in 3D back in 2009. I focused on Rigging.

<shameless plug>http://www.wix.com/spikestarkey/michaelstarkey3d</shameless plug>

Ok, now on to what I would like you guys/gals to rip to shreds.

I have been longing for something to rig for a while now, but my friends who were modelers either no longer exist, switched from Maya to Max, or have stopped working in 3D all together.
So I decided to model some low poly characters for myself to rig.

Please remember I am no modeler, and I am kind of rusty with the rigging.

384842_10150541439579535_618969534_11705556_1409770166_n.jpg
304044_10150541439369535_618969534_11705555_589013780_n.jpg
297807_10150541439079535_618969534_11705553_62663119_n.jpg

I'm fairly happy with the male model, and was hoping for critiques with the female model, But any critique is a good critique.

Here's the rig so far, It's almost done.
301666_10150521713579535_618969534_11612033_453311089_n.jpg

Replies

• Daelus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    For the female, the shoulders are very broad, and she has no more hip definition than the male. Also, she's the same height as the male, but has a higher waist. Seems a little off to me. As to the male model, his back seems a little too arched to me. On both of them, the front of the model doesn't seem to be reflecting the arch, so only the spine is arched, not the ribs or hips.

However, if you're planning on just focusing on rigging, wouldn't it be easier to take a finished model and rig that? There are quite a few free bases around the web that might be applicable. Food for thought I guess.
  • Cloud_Leonheart
    Yeah, I was getting the same critiques from facebook (as few as there were).

I can never find a model I like when I go looking for freebies. Plus, I'd love to know a bit of everything, you know?
  • MiAlx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message