Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Pirate Fortress WIP [UDK]

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Cheese_Shinobi polycounter lvl 9
Hey all, it´s been a while since I posted something here, and this is what I´ve been working on the past week which I would love some feedback on.

This is my first real attempt at making an outdoor environment, and a shout out to Jessica Dinh, I learned alot by observing your current work on hand-painted texturing :) . The concept for this image is from Artyom Vlasklin: http://cghub.com/files/Image/090001-091000/90653/169_large.jpg

As of now I have only diffuse texture on everything, but my next step is to make specular for everything as well.
I also believe I need more foliage, as the current grass gets quite repetetive.

I am still kind of new to UDK and have started to master the basics, but I really want to learn more with this environment, so any tip or suggestion along with comments and critique is welcome.

Skel_EntranceUDK6.jpg
Skel_EntranceUDK7.jpg
Skel_EntranceUDK8.jpgSkel_EntranceUDK9.jpg

Here´s the textures, these first are alla 100% size show, 4 x 512
Texturesheet1.jpg

And the rest are shown at 50% size:
Texturesheet2.jpg

Texturesheet3.jpg

Also I should note that the skull lightpole is also from a concept made by Artyom Vlaskin.

Replies

• chrisradsby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    chrisradsby polycounter lvl 14
    You got enough textures to start creating buildings and smaller huts for this as well, go all out and make a bigger scene out of it. The only thing right now I'd say is that it's lacking depth, mainly due to the above reason.

You got sunlight with stars? It looks a little bit awkward to me.
    Great work on the handpainted stuff, lovely work! Looking forward to more progress!
  • thankupon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message