Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Tiling Texture Study - Marmoset

This is my first attempt at sculpting a mesh in ZBrush to be used for baking a tiling texture.

Tiled 2x in Marmoset.

brickwallsc1.png

Texture Sheet

textureshotbrickwall.png

Diffuse/Spec/Normal

Crits Appreciated.

Replies

• Macattackk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Macattackk polycounter lvl 7
    looking really good. one thing is in the middle of the texture there is a vertical part where there are brick borders on every other brick that exactly line up and it kinda looks weird. everywhere else it is random except that part.
  • Amadreaus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    There's a lot of high frequency noise. It's easy to get carried away with adding details, but if that detail is too uniform and small, you end up with something that's just noisy.
  • Jowens
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yea most of the crazy noise was coming from my specular map. I've fixed it. Everything seems a bit less cluttered now.
  • Jowens
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • Blaisoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blaisoid polycounter lvl 7
    i agree about bricks lining up, you should avoid that in the future.

also, in current version it's possible that it looks too repetive when tiled.
    maybe you should put some darker bricks in the middle, similiar to the dark one on the side or ones at the top.
  • Jowens
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yea for sure, tiling is pretty apparent in UDK.
  • Jowens
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    My tiling wood texture. Going for a a really worn/used texture look.

AO & Normal only. Just wondering about my tiling etc before I paint diffuse.

woodentilex2.png
  • Rick_D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rick_D polycounter lvl 12