Home General Discussion

Portfolio question

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Artist_in_a_box polycounter lvl 7
I feel like this is a question I already know the answer to but in light of current events I gotta ask it. I graduated recently and am looking for work. Without getting too specific i'm not finding any, industry related or not and its getting under my skin a little. Quite a few of my friends have found work and I honestly cannot figure out what I am doing wrong. The only thing I can think of that they do differently is they have a lot more work on their portfolios.

The general rule with portfolio is to only put your best work up and even then only if it is relevant. However a lot of my friends who found work have put up stuff that personally I dont think is their best. Just so I can get some clarification below is a link to my vimeo account and a link to my portfolio, am i missing anything out that should be on there or am I on the right track and just haven't got lucky yet?

http://vimeo.com/user2744816/videos - None of these are on my portfolio as I dont really think they are any good at all.

www.artistinabox.co.uk - This is my portfolio, it will be updated soon with a new version of the Jurassic Park scene.

Thanks

Replies

• Saman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Saman polycounter lvl 13
    From what I can see the assets you've shown in your portfolio don't have a very strong material definition. I would recommend showing them in marmoset toolbag and adjusting the specmap to make it look better.
    Your main problem is the presentation in my opinion. Your website needs more work, it doesn't need to be very advanced but make it look more cool and professional. Here are a few examples;
    http://www.philipk.net/
    http://www.brameulaers.com/
    http://www.adambromell.com/
  • jmt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jmt