Home Technical Talk

How often do you use Zbrush as an Environment or prop artist?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
danjohncox polycounter lvl 7
This poll is for Professional Environment artists only please. I'm a college instructor and want to get a better gauge for how often other environment artists use zbrush during a project.

The studio's I've been to don't have heavy zbrush work most of the time. It's often occasional zbrush work and about 80% of the environment artist's work isnt using zbrush. This is a similar trend for other folks I've talked to and I just want to see whether that is a consistent trend or just a fluke.

To clarify, this is not judging the merits of Zbrush, at this point I think we're all aware the benefits of it. I just wanna how often other artist in other studios are using it.

Replies

• [HP]
    Offline / Send Message
    [HP] polycounter lvl 13
    Mmmm, It's going to depend on the studio and it's workflows.

Naughty Dog's texture artists for instance use it all the time for their textures. And i'm sure that peeps at epic do to.

So without these exceptions, I would take a guess here and asume that ZB or MB usage is not more than ocasional for both env / prop artists.
    Sometimes it can be really handy and help, others it may just be a waste of time, it really depends.
  • Ghostscape
    Offline / Send Message
    Ghostscape polycounter lvl 13
    I spent the past 4 years not using it, as I was doing sci-fi hard surface guns and robots for a third person shooter without the ridiculous level of stylized damage that Gears of War has. I would rarely use it for specific objects but in general most of the stuff I was making was metal, plastic, etc.

Now I'm doing more environment stuff and the weapons and such I'm doing both require a higher fidelity due to targets and are allowing me more resources to devote to them, so I'm finding zbrush creeping into a lot of the things I do.