Home General Discussion

Self Taught or Animation School?

Edit: As many people have rightfully mentioned I've wrongly attributed my interests in concept art and character design to fitting with an animation course when I should have said fine arts or traditional art, I'm so sorry about that.

I'm two weeks away from finishing High School (Australia) and I'm up in the air about what direction I'll be heading in University. I kind of need some advice from people in the industry, generally game design and concept art, but any type of animation would also be awesome. So I'd like to, put out an arm and see if anyone can give a hand of wisdom.

I was thinking of doing architecture for about two years now, just because I thought it'd be a "safe" direction in terms of a job, and give me time to brush up on not just my artistic ability but also give me a "mastery" in life. But in recent times I've been considering, and realising, how much I'm in love with concept art and character design more than anything.

I know it may be a little naive but I'd love to get a job doing art in the games industry [eventually], and am a little worried if I pursue architecture I'd never get the opportunity to become a concept artist / work in the games industry. Mostly because I'm not exactly sure whether or not they offer art lessons under architectural studies. I may add I am very self motivated to become a better artist though in the long run, would it be possible for me to self-teach based solely on practice?

My drawings always edge towards more abstract creatures and whatnot, I know I'm only young ( 18 years old ) so what I draw like now will change dramatically, but I'm definitely more driven by artists such as Creature Box and Bobby Chiu, sorry about my use of clich

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master