Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sawed off Mosin Nagant (noob)

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Zodd polycounter lvl 11
Hi, noob here, attempting at low poly weapon modeling,

What I'm trying to make here is a sawed off version of "mosin nagant" rifle, As you can see I'm well over 1K triangles aaaaaaaaand i don't know if its a good or a bad thing :D

Would like to know
what do you guys think about this approach, standard issues like edge flow topology.... anything you can think of really :D

Will post more images of progress soon just wanted to see "am i doing it right" while I'm still on low poly

monaobshaded.jpgmonaobshaded.jpg

monaobwireframe.jpg
monaobwireframe.jpg
comments, critiques and suggestions highly encouraged

P.S. Sorry in advance if I posted this on wrong thread < very new to the forums and stuff

Replies

• TrevorJ
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TrevorJ polycounter lvl 9
    hmm, sawing off a shotgun makes sense to increase the spread, and conceal-ability, i'm wondering why you would saw off a long barrel rifle though.

Anywho, nothing is jumping out as wrong. What is the intentions of the piece? That may help people give you critiques. Iphone type res? highpoly/normals planned? Or is this just going to be lowpoly/texturing practice? this type of info.
  • Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    TrevorJ wrote: »
    hmm, sawing off a shotgun makes sense to increase the spread, and conceal-ability, i'm wondering why you would saw off a long barrel rifle though.

close quarters? It looks like the main character in the comic "Baltimore" uses one.
  • TrevorJ
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TrevorJ polycounter lvl 9
    fair enough, just a thought.

pretty sweet
    28190d1261885415-building-obrez-choppin-time-wheres-10-hex-receivered-mosin-_7.62-_-_-_1891_-.jpg
  • Zodd
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zodd polycounter lvl 11