Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Fountain Modeling

Hello, Polycount! I'm currently working on making a high-poly model of this drinking fountain:
7222%20-%20Dog%20Drinking%20Fountain%20ADA.jpg
I'm a student in a modeling class, and we're making props as if they're to be used in games.
fountain_example_render.jpg
Here's a render with it with the Turbosmooth modifier applied. Do you guys have any tips?
Thanks!

Replies

• fuzzio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You have got a good start here, I have taken the image and noted down the parts which may need to be tweaked. Hope it helps.

tkBP9.jpg
  • sybrix
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sybrix polycounter lvl 13
    This is a great start. Fuzzio pointed out some good things. I think you need to look more closely at the bottom basin though. The spigot looks taller, the hood over the spigot is also a lot thinner in the ref. The metal "hump" part where it connects to the basin is more bulbous with softer curves tan what you have. The basin isn't completely flat but looks like there's a slight slope towards where the drain would be. Also the base of the whole fountain sticks out more in the reference too.
  • Ozimul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the advice! Guess I didn't notice some of these things since I was tweaking what I had so much... ^^ ;;
  • Ozimul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    All right. I've made a few improvements to the fountain over the past few days.
    Fountain_render_02.jpg

How's it looking? Any other advice? : )
  • greevar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    greevar polycounter lvl 6
    Yes, the base flares outward when it is a completely straight tube from top to bottom.
  • Ozimul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Faucet_UVs_Help.jpg
    How do I unfold something like what I have in the upper-left? I'm working at unwrapping the UVs of the low-poly model.