Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Low Poly Shotgun

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post on this forum and just wanted to say hello and maybe show something I am currently working on. Take a look and lemme know what you think. Looking forward to making some friends and learning a bit from this seemingly great community.

This is a WIP though it is a rather late stage WIP. I am to be making some assets in the near future and will post as I go on those.

Low Poly
lp.png

Low Poly Textured/Normal Mapped
1.png
2.png
3.png
4.png

Replies

• camza
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Welcome! :)

I'm a bit of a newbie too so it feels a little weird welcoming you.

You could easily shave some polys off a few areas:
    1. The shells.
    2. What's going on with the 4 edgeloops at the back of the pump? They don't seem to be adding to the silhouette.
    3. That little doodad at the front of the reciever just behind the pump looks like it has a very generous amount of polys for what it is. I litterally can't see it when the textures are applied. It can probably be reduced without causing any great loss.

Also the trigger looks like it's been missed when you did the specular.
  • threedeenut
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey, sorry for the slow reply, i sorta redid the maps from scratch. I had originally done all the paining in mudbox. This time i just did em all in photoshop the ole' fashioned way. Still not loving it though. The textures need work. I also reduced the polycount to make it lighter.

5.PNG
    6.PNG
    7.PNG
    8.PNG
    LP.PNG
  • redmond_david
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    redmond_david polycounter lvl 16
    Its a good start, but I think you should take some time and look at your refs.
    The Browning A5 semi auto shotgun uses barrel recoil to cycle the action,
    meaning that fflashlight will get knocked clean off after the first shot. I've never