Home Unreal Engine

Creating architectural static meshes

Hello guys,
I'm pretty new at modelling stuff (read never done it in my life), and recently I decided I wanted to start creating levels for a game based on the UDK engine (Red Orchestra 2). For the people that don't know RO2, it is an FPS about the WW2 Eastern Front.

The part about making the level in UDK is okay, I have some knowledge and will be able to get away with it but I'd also like to make some static meshes that I could import in UDK to use in my maps.
The thing is I never touched any modelling tool in my life so I need some pointers. I just got an Autodesk students account so I have access to their tools.

Questions:
1- Which type of tool should I be using? I understand that the preferred way of modelling architecture is by using 3DS Max rather than Maya or something else, is that correct?
2- Is there any well regarded beginner tutorial?
3- Is there any well regarded architecture building tutorial?
4- I'd like to create a train station, the building in itself is not very big and should be enterable by the player. Should I favour creating modular static meshes instead of one big mesh? What is the benefit of modular meshes?
5- Is there any tutorial about creating a mesh in a modelling tool all the way to importing it into UDK?

I'm sorry if it seem I didn't search the net, I did but there are so many different sites and reads that I wanted to ask specifically about my problem.
If anyone has any more pointers or advice go for it, I'll need all the help I can get ;)

Replies

• snow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    snow polycounter lvl 8
    Well it's a huge first step. I'll just preface this with, it won't be an overnight job, you'll need a lot of training on basics before you'd be competent enough to bash out a good scene in UDK.

1. Whatever you want, Maya, XSI, Blender, Max. I would recommend Max as I find the majority of tutorials nowadays use Max.
    2. Check out Eat3D: Max 101 DVD.