Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sig Sauer p229 Wip

I'm trying to produce some work to make a new portfolio. When i graduated we weren't even covering normal maps in school. This project is intended to help get me used to the workflow and techniques for creating a weapon for a fps. The geometry in the pic is a smooth proxy i guess (pressed "3" in maya) so it is still quite editable. I have some mostly minor shading errors that i think would take longer to fix than would be worth it. I don't think they will be super noticeable or unfixable in the final product. I suppose after this i will start the in-game model when i am able to allocate some free time. I am thinking 6000 tris should be acceptable for a pistol in a modern fps, this is of course open for debate. Also any helpful links would be greatly appreciated in regards to modeling for fps's. My searches did not yield much helpful material. I have been 3d modeling for close to 8 years but I started my own non 3d business after school with my wife and I'm looking to get back into it on a semi professional level. Comments and crits welcome, thanks.6249993165_3594d9ae5f_b.jpg6249970695_ff626eaba9_b.jpg

Replies

• Oniram
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oniram polycounter lvl 17
    modeling looks pretty good. well done on that end. however your edges are waaaaaaaay too tight. you need to loosen them up a bit. some notes also to take care of/think about.

before the crits. in regard to your tri count.. id maybe aim for about 3-5k triangles if there's no attachments.

gm5vzbj5.jpg

1. on the back of the gun. make the slide and grip seem like they uniformly fit together. youve got 1 area thats got a hard angle.. and the other has a soft one.

2. your bullet ejection area doesnt really match well with the slide.

3. this piece looks like theres a hole in it.

4. make this a bit more smooth.