Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

"Routine checkup" - wip animation project

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
ander polycounter lvl 17
Hello,

I am a third year student at the media and advertising department at Tartu Art College. This year at our 3d-graphics course, our main assignment is a short animation. Our evaluation is at january, but its better to start early.

I have done 3d modeling before, but I have never prepared models for animation, this is where I need help from you guys!

The idea is a sci-fi scene at a police station, where at early hours an engineer comes to check up on a police mecha, only to find out it has been tagged by some local kids and it ends with the engineer painting the tags over. With this plot I could learn how to rig a character and at the same time learn about parenting and keyframe animation. Our teacher told us, that the level of detail on models is not important, but proper rigging and animation.

I sketched out the engineer and I have now started modeling and I have questions about the poly distribution and edge flow - what will I need to keep in mind when modeling for animation. Write, draw over the model to get me on the right track!

OMAo4.jpg

Here is the in progress model. I thought I will post it here, before I move further with my mistakes. :D

VcS8z.jpg
kdfEG.jpg
qsaU6.jpg

Goal - start early, do thinks right and get an A in january!

Il post my progress here - I'm finishing some environment sketches, will post soon!

Thanks for your time!

Replies

• Rhinokey
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rhinokey polycounter lvl 18
    sounds neat, tho routine maintenance would probably fit better. when i read checkup i instantly asumed it would be medical doctor related.
  • MiAlx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MiAlx polycounter lvl 10
    ex1.jpg

ex2.jpg

http://pig-brain.com/tut02/tut02_02.htm