Home Technical Talk

Normal Map Question

Hi everyone,

I have been using 3ds Max 2008 for a few years and I finally upgraded to 2012 and I am encountering normal map issues that I have not had in the past. Here is a asset that I am working on (don't mind the place holder texture):
dinerSignWip.jpg

You can see the areas where my seams would be as there are harsh changes in lighting. It seems that I had little issues in 2008 Max when dealing with normals and nothing like this. It also seems that some of my older models don't look correct in the normal map as the light behaves differently on them. I am baking the maps from a higher poly model.

I guess I am wondering if I need to re-think the way I am making these maps or if anyone one else encountered this issue.

Thanks for your time and let me know if you need more information.

Replies

• Corey Miller
    Honestly I would check your Smoothing groups they seem to be a bit off on where you pointing out seems. and May We see your Normal sheet?
  • EarthQuake
    Do you have two objects intersecting here?

Merge them into one seamless object.

or

Explode bake them.

The highpoly "roundness" of shape A(little shape) is tracing down onto shape b(big shape).

Also, post wires, normal texture, etc. Along with an untextured shot, preferable from the viewport.
  • Mark Dygert
    It looks to me like you need more padding? Also try what EQ suggested.

Also did you change the low poly mesh after baking? Like change the smoothing groups or add/remove geometry, weld a few points or detach an element? All of that would fubar the normals and lead to all kinds of seams.
  • dinfet
    Thank you all for responding to my question!

Here is the images that you requested:
    diner_sign_help2.jpg

To answer the question I did not alter the model after the bake was made.
    Thanks again.
  • Corey Miller
    Your Normal map isn't showing much information and the uv's around that bend seem awkward.
  • Artist_in_a_box