Home Unreal Engine

Over my head

I work with CAD software by trade, so all this mesh stuff is way over my head. Allow me to explain my situation.

I like to make replicas of items from video games for the purpose of cosplay. I've made many successful weapons from Fallout and Source engine games. I used to make the blueprints by hand off of concept art, but I've since evolved to a much simpler method.

I extract the model out of the game, drop it into blender, prep it i.e. add a light, scale and position, remove textures, and render out a couple png's from different perspectives, with the Edges post-process active. Turns out some really nice stuff, I then take all those pictures, Photoshop them together, and put them in Solidworks where I get some measurements.

I've learned enough about blender to do that, but thats it. I also know nothing about python code, or any kind of code for that matter.

Now my problem is this:
I recently decided to try and tackle some stuff from mass effect. I learned how to extract the meshes with UModel, but I can't import them into blender. There is a community made importer, but I can't seem to get it to work.

I downloaded UDK, but everytime I export anything, it either fails outright, or when I import it, it's empty. I've been looking around and from what I understand, these meshes are 'cooked' which makes them unusable.

My question is, is there anyway to 'uncook' them, get them from somewhere else, or some other solution. I don't make any kind of a profit off of it, nor will I ever, it's just a hobby. I would reall appreciate if someone could help me out.

Thank you for your time,
TJ

Replies

• Oniram
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oniram polycounter lvl 17