Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Polycount newbie looking for honest feedback

[FONT=&quot]Hello everyone, my name is Breese and I'm new to the polycount forum. I'm a graduate student at the Academy of Art University and I'm majoring in Game Design. My undergrad is in Industrial Design, so I want to learn how to use my technical 3D CAD skills within the world of 3D videogames.
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Our assignment this week is to post a few images of what we believe is our best 3D model and ask for honest feedback. This assignment will help me understand my weaknesses and how I can improve my 3D modeling skills. [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]So , here is a model of a Lamborghini Miura concept car that I created in Maya a few months ago. If anyone has a few minutes, could you post a few comments (good and bad) about my 3D model? [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Thanks and I appreciate your time![/FONT]

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]21738996.jpg[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]21738997.jpg[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]21738998.jpg[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]21738999.jpg[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]21739000.jpg[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]21739001.jpg
[/FONT]

Replies

• Xoliul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    Well for one it's not game-art. The modeling itself could help you when baking normalmaps, but this thing is not very useful towards becoming a game artist if it's just a software rendered highpoly model.

It looks like you've got the flow and modeling down nicely though. Can't tell for sure without a wireframe, but sure looks better than the average car a student would make (aka molten bumpfest).
    I guess the biggest flaw to me is the not very appealing render quality... it looks cheesy and very 90's.
    It lacks some refinement in details and the tire displace is a bit pixelated.
  • Stromberg90
    Options