Home Technical Talk

Unity: textures looking bad vs maya

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Mambo4 polycounter lvl 6
I'm new to unity, troubleshooting my 3d prop modeling process.
I'm having trouble getting my nice diffuse and normal textures to look good in unity

textures_maya_vs_unity.jpg

using the same 1024 x 1024 jpg images , one for color and one for normal map.

In Unity i'm using a bumped diffuse material

It looks much better in Maya (top).
In unity the pixels are being re-sampled or something?
Is this a material parameter(s) I must control? If so which?

oddly, the jpgs seem to hold up fine in Unity's material preview:

textures_maya_vs_unity2.jpg

Replies

• bugo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bugo polycounter lvl 17
    dont use jpegs, use tga or png, make sure to check your compression texture settings. Your normal map compression gotta be nmap compression, not default. Check for the resolution settings too. Might be less than your source file.
  • MadnessImport
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ^ This

Also
    eTE8s.png

Have this set to Full Res for your current preset
  • Mambo4
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mambo4 polycounter lvl 6
    Like I said , I'm new to this so please bear with me.
    use tga or png
    pngs look marginally better but still something is hosing the texture.
    make sure to check your compression texture settings. Your normal map compression gotta be nmap compression, not default.Check for the resolution settings too. Might be less than your source file.

where do I do this? what must I select in the project tab in order to access these parameters in the inspector?

same question for MadnessImport...can't seem to find that inspector page you screengrabbed by selecting the objet, material or texture in the project tab.

Does it matter that I don't use unity pro?
  • Zephiris
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zephiris polygon