Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

FistOfVegetables' lowpoly WIP thread

I am currently working on adding to my portfolio, so I am going to use this thread to show the processes of what I am working on and hopefully get some good advice to improve my skills in the process.

I will be posting soon!:)

Replies

• FistOfVegetables
    Ok, sorry it has been a while, I've been working on the concept art for the two projects that I have going right now, and have just now been getting into the modeling. This is the first of three props for the 'Dark Signs' project, the lantern. I am not very good at concept art, so the design changes while I'm modeling based on my references and how it looks, but I do have an overall idea of what I am going for. :P

Here is the concept:
    Lantern.jpg

And here is my first highpoly model:
    LanternModel1.jpg

Critiques and advice is not only fine, but I would really like it! :)
  • FistOfVegetables
    While I'm at it I might as well post what else I did today. This is for the other project I am working on, which unfortunately doesn't have a name and will refer to as 'Dual Environment' project.

I made some high poly bricks in Max and Zbrush, and arranged them in a tileable pattern and baked a normal and AO into a plane for the textures. I will use them in the exterior environment as floor and wall textures. Next I will be adding grunge and wear then moving to diffuse. :)

The highpoly:
    render.jpg

And the tile image in max with the normals and the AO as the diffuse to check if it tiled ok:
    rendertiling.jpg
  • jeremiah_bigley
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jeremiah_bigley polycounter lvl 12
    Awesome! you going to model the little rivets in the concept? Really looking forward to the textures. You going more realistic, or toony like the concept?

Keep it coming! Not much to critique at the moment.
  • FistOfVegetables