Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UDK] Venice

I'm currently a student and for this months class i was grouped up with a partner and we made this level over a month. The main theme was Pirates and we went for a rustic "port" town. Found this image and decided to head for a similar look.
xAFeG.jpg

I believe it turned out well and could use some more piratey assets but it was a good experience. I would really appreciate any comments, critiques, or questions about the level.

RkarE.jpg
HQdy5.jpg
W9PsJ.jpg
k8Dsh.jpg
4htge.jpg
evXpg.jpg
fixUb.jpg

Replies

• yubbie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It looks very good but doesn't look anything like Venice (been there many times). I would change the name if I were you as most people will have a distinct image in their mind of what Venice looks like and this will only raise certain expectations that this piece does not meet.
  • RictusGrin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Agree with yubbie, I would not call it Venice. This set looks more medieval (like a non-cartoony version of Fable or perhaps Witcher's Vizma) rather than like Assassin Creed 2 Venice.
  • iniside
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    iniside polycounter lvl 6
    Nice, but you should stop using same texture for walls and floor.
  • XenoKratios
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    XenoKratios polycounter lvl 12
    The image is Fable concept art I think. So a fable type look would fit well.

I think you should try to mimic the lighting in the image as well, it has a great atmosphere.
  • Jessica Dinh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jessica Dinh polycounter lvl 10
    This looks pretty cool! :D Although I agree with XenoKratios about the lighting, or at least maybe tone down the super strong contrast you have now between the blue and orange.
  • dii
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dii