Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Noob Struggling with Advanced Project (Need Help ASAP!)

Hi everyone,

I'm planning on applying to college this November to study game design (or similar courses.) In many cases I have been asked to produce a portfolio, and rather than show a bunch of schizophrenic drawing, 3D models and writing pieces I have decided to go through the 3D modeling pipeline, building a low poly rifle model, creating my UV, normal and texture maps and finishing off a high poly in Mudbox to bake over the low poly. Only 1 problem...

I've never done 3D modeling before.

Oh sure, I've done the dumpster that every beginner modeler is told to do, but I've never done something so advanced, nor have I had so little time to complete it. Which is why I'm turning to the Polycount community for help.
Unfortunately I can't seem to upload images of the model, so if anyone is interested in helping me please respond on this post and I will send you a private message with my e-mail address that way I can send the WIP maya file to you.

Hope people are willing to help!

EDIT:

Alright everyone, this is where I am right now and this is probably where I'm stopping on this project. Since I know next to nothing about modeling I'm going to include this in my portfolio as an experimental piece, and start working on more basic models so that I can actually pull off UV, normal and texture maps for them. Doing those for the assault rifle is way beyond my capabilities right now. Anyway, thanks for the info, it'll be helpful in focusing my research into the field, and here's the final high-poly render:

Futuristic_Rifle_hp_experiment.png

Cheers.

Replies

• greevar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    greevar polycounter lvl 6