Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UDK] Ancient Gateway

For my most recent 3D project, I wanted to create an environment using Unreal Development Kit. I decided to build a gateway to an ancient city from a fantasy story I'm writing. Here is the result. I would appreciate any critique, so please let me know what you think. Thanks!

Gateway_Shot_01_sm.jpg

Gateway_Shot_02_sm.jpg

Gateway_Shot_03_sm.jpg

Gateway_Shot_04_sm.jpg

Gateway_Shot_05_sm.jpg

Gateway_Wires.jpg

Gateway_Textures.jpg

Replies

• Jeremy-S
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeremy-S polycounter lvl 11
    I'm no environment artist, so take this for what it's worth. It's not bad so far, the modeling looks good to me, the design is there too, but it's very very gray, and boring. There's no weathering to the stone, the lighting is very basic, there's no atmospherics, or shadows, it's just kinda "bleh".

But if it's just a start, it's not a bad one. You need to push this a LOT further. Get some reference, and study the shit out of it. Image search old places like this, and get inspiration, and ideas for ways to push it. Put those images into a collage, and refer to that a lot.

In short, good for START, not nearly finished yet. Keep going
  • megalmn2000
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    megalmn2000 polycounter lvl 13
    Bake some lightmap within UDK, this will give more depth with shadows in the scene.

http://eat3d.com/free/udk-light-map-resolution-basic-overview
  • VictorSantos
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    VictorSantos polycounter lvl 12
    The concept it's pretty cool but I think that the light set-up and the textures can give a lot more strength to the scene.

Like this:
    Argonath.jpg

You can play a lot with the afternoon light.

Keep it up mate!
  • nfrrtycmplx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    nfrrtycmplx polycounter lvl 18