Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

3D Artist looking for critiques

I am a 3D artist who graduated from the Art Institute of Pittsburgh in March of this year. I am currently employed as a digital printer working 40 hours/week and making $12/hr... which is okay, but I really want to push for a job in my field. I'm going to be completely revamping my portfolio, but I need some advice on where I should take it. What do I need to improve upon, what works, what doesn't, etc.

Here's a link to my online portfolio.

378916_orig.jpg

6531464_orig.jpg

7988366_orig.jpg

1622312_orig.jpg

Replies

• Shiniku
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shiniku polycounter lvl 9
    Cool stuff.

The texture on that table is.. not good. The items on the table look pretty decent but it looks like no care was taken in texturing the table itself at all, and it really detracts. it just looks like fibers from photoshop and just has way too much contrast for what ti is. Just look up some reference and put the same thought into that as you did some other objects.

In general, I would say your textures are your weakest point. They seem a bit simple. I think that kind of works for some of your stuff, like your dino character - looking kind of cartoony and cute. But there are other things that could really use a lot more love material wise, like your locust vehicle. Really think about how your diffuse, specular, and normal maps are working together to create the material you desire - look up references of the types of materials you're trying to emulate.

Just my initial thoughts. Nice work and good luck

edit:
    also, the way you're displaying your texture layouts is a bit disorienting. I'd much rather just see the entire square so I can get a better sense of how well you take advantage of your uv space.
  • Mgoblue412
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mgoblue412 polycounter lvl 5