Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My second model, first time doing diffuse texturing. Need some ruthless critism.

All this is mouse drawn in a gimp and mostly using 1998 version of Picture Publisher 8. Trying to use gimp more for obvious reasons. Comments/criticism welcome. Since this is my first real texture, I am still learning. I am not an artist and haven't attempted to draw anything like this before. Took me about a week+ from scratch looking at the UVMap. I am doing this for fun to learn and see what I can do.

wirem.jpg

sidedn.jpg

backph.jpg

frontfc.jpg

topdown.png
frontmm.png

My vision of her and what I ended up with were two completely different things, since I didn't use any concept art or schematics.

My goal was to create a low poly model. A few questions to go along with it all.

Texture Map size, I used a 1024x1024 for the entire model. Is this to large for gaming? If I were to run 10 of these models in an environment would that be to much?

Normal Mapping, afaik, just adds depth perception, but can an artist achieve that the same results though a diffuse if their good enough? Or, is there something about those maps that do something to lighting?

Still in the dark about alot of things. Tutorials only get you so far. If you were going to higher me, what would you say about this model.

Replies

• gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi there,
    since I didn't use any concept art or schematics.
    No reference? You always want reference...especially if your just starting out.
    Texture Map size, I used a 1024x1024 for the entire model. Is this to large for gaming? If I were to run 10 of these models in an environment would that be to much?
    No. Main characters are often 2048x2048.
    Normal Mapping, afaik, just adds depth perception, but can an artist achieve that the same results though a diffuse if their good enough? Or, is there something about those maps that do something to lighting?