Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

A couple aircraft WIPs

polygon
Hi everyone. :) I think this may be my first post of content on this forum.

I'm getting back into poly modeling and game stuff after a long hiatus. I was hoping that I could get some C&C on my texturing work so far with this one aircraft?

I'm not very good at painting and I'm only slightly better at textures. At the moment except for the paint chips it looks a bit empty and bland to me? I'm planning on putting some warnings on, but I was wondering if maybe I should put more?

But yea, otherwise I'm also posting another WIP that I'm working on. Hope you folks enjoy. :)

So I'm texturing this aircraft, based on this concept
http://www.moddb.com/games/skykick/images/sft-238#imagebox :

CompletedMesh.JPG

And here's the texture WIP so far;

texturewip2.jpg

The UVs:

UVs.jpg

...and I'm currently modeling this when I'm not texturing that;
http://www.moddb.com/games/skykick/images/sft-240#imagebox

WIP-1.jpg

Cheers, and thank you! :)

Replies

• biofrost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    biofrost polycounter lvl 12
    The model it self looks pretty good, would love to see some wires though. As for the texture get a specular map in there! It will do wonders and make the texture look less flat and give it some more life.
  • InvertedVantage
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    InvertedVantage polygon
    Thank you! :) Here are some wires. I have a spec map on there, but it only has the paint chips and they're set to 100% (white). Where should I put general highlights? I was thinking on either side of the panel lines. Current polycount is 7,737, which will get bumped up quite a bit when I get around to modeling some pilots, probably to the 9,000 range.

wire2.jpg

wire1.jpg

Here's a shot of my spec map and an updated render;

SFT238-spec.png

specmapupdate.jpg

I just can't seem to get it to "pop". :\
  • cupsster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cupsster polycounter lvl 11