Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My First Piece on Polycount

This is my first time posting on polycount and would love to get feed back on my trash can. I have been learning to model and texture for a little while but still very much a noob. I plan on doing something bigger then this trash can, but I need to get past the noob mistakes first.

Any crits would be great, don't worry you won't hurt my feelings:)

2rm4lk8.jpg
119pfd5.jpg
1175lk6.jpg
x1nmlk.jpg
2q03dx4.jpg

Replies

• r_fletch_r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    r_fletch_r polycounter lvl 9
    Lets break it down.

Low poly model:
    You have used far too many polygons for something like a bin. the model itself is nice and clean but too dense. Avoid modeling bevels and small bumps into low poly models. that's what the normal map is for. also you could do with using fewer segments on the cylinder.

Unwrap:
    You should straighten the cylinder, this will take less space. Texture space is expensive, you dont want to be wasting any of it if you can.

Bake:
    Nothing wrong here, the bakes clean.
    I would however suggest that you bake out a ambient occlusion pass and use it to help with your texturing.

Texture:
    this is your weakest part. You need to observe your subject and try to replicate how it looks in real life.
    To point out some obvious problems. your texture is scaled incorrectly. the size of the metalic details look way too large. you cant just slap a metal texture onto something you need to consider it in terms of the scale of the object. (look at the size of the scratches!!)

When doing a texture you need to study how the environment effects your model. is it dirty, is it bleached by the sun, is it rusty. once you know the effects get reference. Work out where dirt would naturally collect, where rust will form. observe how these things effect both the colour and reflectivity of the surface. Dry dirt can be light and not very reflective, where as wet dirt is dark and glossy.