Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook:benj666

Hi my name is Ben, Im pretty new to stuff like this, but i was told to come on here and post stuff that i do. it isnt very good yet but this is the learning process. I wont be able to update much yet as I am in america (im from the UK - visiting my girlfriend) and Im doing very little at the min, but ill update when ever i can. I am not really an artist but I do some digital painting every now and have to for university, I enjoy it and I hope i get better.

My posts will be a mixture of 2d and 3d stuff. Some will be done in my own time and some from university, I am studying games design.

I welcome critique recommendations, hints and tips on improvement. Thanks in advance and thanks for looking.

This was something I did a few months ago, when my first year in uni had ended. I worked from a maya book that i got. I used their stock image. It was entirely finished. But this was a result. Only took an hour or so.
263799_10150205720986010_514746009_7543132_5392020_n.jpg

Again working from a book I did this. My first attempt ever at a character. The book was pretty informative and I feel i learned something from doing this, so im glad i did it. They have a stock texture but i think i will create the texture myself when Im back home.
263855_10150232547341010_514746009_7725962_4269063_n.jpg

This is something I did when i arrived in the states. was looking to improve my colouring techniques, so i found a tutorial that shown how to do it with an apple, this could be alot better.
apple.jpg

After the apple i wanted to do create a sword in maya, so i just set out to draw one first, this is the thing i came up with.
swordtemplate.jpg

Then i coloured it. The hilt will be black leather. So i tried to colour it as best i could too look like leather.
sword.jpg

I modelled the hilt first.
leswordscreenie.jpg