Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Edge loop and general advice

GoK
GoK
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
GoK polycounter lvl 18
Im not a character artist but this is what I have so far, any advice on edge loops for animation and general modelling tips are welcome.

characterflow.jpg

Replies

• PredatorGSR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PredatorGSR polycounter lvl 14
    Look at the polycount wiki for reference on how face topology should look. http://wiki.polycount.com/FaceTopology
  • Illusive
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Illusive polycounter lvl 8
    Topology looks pretty good to me although i'm not sure about the edges of the lip, it looks like it could be a bit cleaner.
    For animation purposes you should connect two edge loops at the inside of the knees and the elbows. this way when they bend they'll deform a lot nicer (hope that makes sense)
    keep at it dude
  • uncle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It looks like a basemesh for sculpting, so it's not a finished lowpoly I guess? You would end up doing a retopology so I wouldn't bother with polishing it right now, just keep all more or less even quads and it should work. But if you plan to use this one as lowpoly you could get rid of some unnecessary loops.

Good face topology thread

Also, I'm not sure that butt will deform well... I got sum nice tips here, try to follow them.
  • GoK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GoK polycounter lvl 18
    Thanks guys! Ill check out all those links. It is a base mesh for a sculpt but was hoping I could avoid re-topology but Ill prob have to in the end I suppose. Thanks again!

Jody
  • uncle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Retopology is fun, that is the time that you know every awesome feature in your model will look and animate great. But i think I get what you mean, I tried to avoid that before I got used to making one for every model :)
  • GoK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message