Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Super-volcanic 50s Diner

Hi all, I'm new to Polycount and was hoping I could get some crit on the early going of my final year university project. The idea is essentially 'What if the Yellowstone super volcano went off in 1957'? This diner is one of the isolated buildings left to fall into disrepair for years after the disaster. Any advice/thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

This is a basic render of what the scene might look like:

dinerblocking31.png

It's currently 16190 tris.

As far as individual assets go, here are the wireframes, and the diffuse+spec textured renders, of:

The chairs:

dirtychairshowmod.png

wireframechairsmaller.png

The couches:

dirtycouchshowmod.png

wireframecouchsmaller.png

The clock:

dirtyclockshowmodsmalle.png

wireframeclocksmaller.png

I want to make this environment as good as I possibly can, so any observations are welcome.

Replies

• Remmers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Remmers polycounter lvl 7
    Will your scene be in a game engine or just a static render?
    I think you should look a bit into your topology. The couch really got some strange topology you don't really need, try to focus on the basic shapes of the object. Also the clock looks a bit odd, why is there sticking a square plane through the mesh?

Anyway keep going!
    oh and welcome to Polycount ;)
  • SaarlemSanders
    @Remmers Thanks for the advice. I'll be putting it into a game engine for the final images. I'll work on the topology of the couch, it ended up with some unusual areas because I kept spotting awkwardly straight edges when I rendered it from different angles. The plane on the clock is because the glass, face and hands are made with opacity-mapped planes rather than adding extra polys to the mesh, though if it'd be beneficial to work them into the mesh then obviously that'd be easy to do. Do you have any thoughts on the textures?
  • SaarlemSanders