Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

j0j0y's Environment Portfolio Development?

Hello! This is my first post on PC. I'm a student at Gnomon and graduating in December. I want to work as an environment artist in games, and I'm dedicating my last bit of time (5 months now?) towards that. I have nothing but "demo reel" and "portfolio building" classes now so... it's up to me to just create what I want.

I started a blog recently too: http://joy-lea.blogspot.com/ if you want to see kind of what I've done so far in school. Mostly hi-poly modeling/texturing for stills, no game stuff yet. I've also done some freelance modeling and I'm interning at the school's studio making assets for the next short.

So uhh... mostly what I've been struggling with is figuring out exactly what I should make. I want to make assets, and show them in Unreal (I have a just enough experience in this to know how to import in a model from Maya). Should I do a bunch of different assets? Should I shoot for an entire cohesive environment? I guess that's mostly what I see from other people here haha but level design isn't a strong point of mine.

The other night I made a couple things just to make something, kind of sketched a couple things out and built them hi-poly. I had this idea in my head of a hi-techie Pokemon Center.

del.jpeg

del2.jpeg

Big chunky shapes! I wanted to keep the proportions kind of close to what they had in the games. I don't really design stuff often; mostly at Gnomon we're tasked to match concepts. It's also different for me to think of making things that can/have to repeat... haha.

As my time gets shorter and shorter I have to make the right decisions. I do have like 50hrs a week that I can dedicate to this stuff, and I work pretty fast, so I have the time potential to do a LOT. I would appreciate any kind of criticisms or advice that you can give me, towards this project or even for future projects I should do.

Thanks so much!

Replies

• CrackRockSteady