Home Unreal Engine

Basic MipMap problem - need help!

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Kuki polycounter lvl 8
Hello guys, I am not a Udk expert and I have a mip map problem in my Scene...I searched on the web and tried to change the MipMap/Lod settings of my textures as suggested from some udk users, but I can't find a way to work it out.

It seems a pretty basic issue to me but I am stuck, I don't know what I am missing..

Here is the prolbem explained and the "default" import setting of my asphalt tile texture, anyone coul give me some advices on how to proceed?

:)

Thanks

basicproblem.jpg

basicporblemmipmap.jpg

Replies

• Xendance
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xendance polycounter lvl 7
    It just looks like you need some anisotropic filtering ;p
    But you can change the mip map settings with the Mip Gen Settings, it's visible in your screen.
  • Kuki
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kuki polycounter lvl 8
    I changed the mip gen settings but the situation doesn't change.... :(

Where can be found a master anisotropic filtering "variable" for the entire scene?
  • feanix
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    feanix polycounter lvl 7
    This is so much a problem with your texture or the UDK as much as a general limitation with 3D graphics in general.

What you're seeing a trade-off between performance and visual fidelity. You could just turn off mip maps entirely in the mip-map settings. That will stop this from happening (probably) but also hugely increase the texture memory requirements of your scene. So it's really not an ideal solution.
  • Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    A solution to this issue (at least, in the case of Mount and Blade, the Dev's even made a tutorial for this solution, but I cannot find it for some reason) is to add some 'deformations' in the polygons, so that there is a much more clear reading when the MM's kick in.