Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Rigging Final C&C :)

Well I finished my rigging class with an " A " but my teachers c&c and positive feedback means nothing with the advice that comes from this community :). So let me know what yall think.

I modeled the RX-93 Hi Nu Gundam from Char's counter attack.

Programs used :

3ds max 2012 ( Modeled here )
Maya 2012 ( Rigged and animated here )
Sony Vegas 9
Fraps

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6pMNjiZXCMo[/ame]

Replies

• DeeKei
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    uh i cant see any links or anything?
  • Ron.S
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sorry I forgot that :P
  • BrontoThunder
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BrontoThunder polycounter lvl 13
    The rig itself looks pretty damn good, I'm not an expert rigger or even close so I can't comment on that in much detail but I have a few notes about the video itself:
    - The see-through wireframe is really messy, it's hard to tell what's going on there. I think you should either drop the wireframe shots or put the wires on top of the solid mesh so that the topology can be seen clearly.
    - You probably don't need to show that the rig does something on the right side of the mech's body and then the same on the left, I think it's probably safe to assume with symmetrical models. Focus more of the time showing off everything the rig can do.
    - The repeated animation shots at the end seemed really awkward to me.
  • MrHobo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MrHobo polycounter lvl 13
    Very solid rig! Reminds me how much I hate rigging (But love the results it gives). I'd loose the wire frame of the mech, you're showing off your rigging skills, not your modeling in the video right?
    Instead you'd probably want to show the skeleton that you built for the rig. Lastly at the end show an animation from the front side and back, you don't need to show the same animation from as many angles as you have now.