Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Dear Polycount,

I feel as if I'm at an impass,

When I was seven years old, my father brought home Sketchup from work, and I took right to it, making cubes and space ships out of primitive shapes, than he bought Max 6 and brought it home, and I made my first gun. Six years later, I discovered the modding scene and began my first dive into game art; two years after, I graduated highschool early to work at a fabrication studio in New York. During my stay there I worked in construction, fabrication, sculpture, and building concept renders for clients in 3d. Now I'm back in Ca living with my friend and his mother, and after ten years of 3d modeling, I feel as if I've still only made a slight improvement. I see others starting out knowing nothing, and within a year or two, they've attained a professional work level, I want to know how its done.

I'm seventeen years old, and I have one passion in life; art, and now, as work becomes a necessity, the need for an outstanding portfolio has arrived; and I have lots to learn.

Thanks very much,
Payton Q.

Replies

• PeterK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PeterK greentooth
    Hi Payton,

thanks for posting here, we love articulate members with a passion for 3d here; Welcome to polycount. This place is wonderful for learning from some of the best in the business.

I started 3d when I was around 12/13 with truespace, and eventually started using max as well. I've been doing for a long time now, and I even own my own studio. I've been on polycount for 13/14 years now, and I've learned a lot; so he sky is the limit!

I think if you keep your creative passion, and educate yourself on your own terms, you will find success in this field. Consider balancing your 3d pursuits with other technical skills; programming is a fantastic one. This will give you a fresh perspective on many issues our field faces.