Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Gladiator - W.I.P.

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Lombos polycounter lvl 6
Hi everyone. I graduated from the Academy of Art University in San Francisco back in December, after some time off and a little vaction I'm back to working hard on my portfolio.

I only took a few basic games classes while I was at AAU because I didn't think I wanted to do games models. I can see it's much more likely I will be able to get a job if I open myself up to the games industry.

I'm a Maya user, I've played around in Max a little, I've never done normal maps until recently (just started testing out Xnormal), never done spec, or rendered in a game engine, and my texture skills might be rusty...So I have a bit of learning to do.

Anyway onto the goods...I really love to sculpt, so the easy part for me is basically done.

Screen grabs from Zbrush

6-23render.jpg

The shield will double as a Sheath for the sword I still need to make. I've made a low poly of the shield to do some test Normal bakes with Xnormal...they haven't been too successful yet. I'll post the issues I'm having tomorrow...

ShieldSculpt.jpg

I'll be updating regularly with all the fun problems I run into.
Comments & Crits very welcome.
Thanks for taking a look.
-Oliver

Replies

• P442
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    P442 polycounter lvl 8
    I agree, the shield does look weird. The lion head is sick, but the shield itself is too bulbous. Also your gladiator arms look a bit flat.
  • MrHobo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MrHobo polycounter lvl 13
    Maybe it's just me but the head seems just a tad too big. Other then that everything look pretty tight, especially like the shin guards. Everything just needs some damage.
  • Lombos
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lombos polycounter lvl 6