Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Secretworld Environment

keyframe
Offline / Send Message
Sharvo keyframe
Hello,

This is my latest bit of work i am currently working on the concept is from secretworld not to sure on the actual artist who made it, but here goes. Still in early development, last week or so after work. Let me know your thoughts at this early stage. Things i have noticed is the back is way to dark and the tree still needs some love! Materials need a big overhaul, but i am still learning udk, normally just render out of maya.

So first is the concept and then it is my adaption it is not the same in terms of scale and porportions but i have just tried to make a nice widescreen version :)
67359_TheSecretWorld-ConceptArt-06.jpg
japaneseEnviro1.png

Replies

• Bon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bon
    Few things mate to recreate the image. I am sure you have noticed several points that I will mention.
    - The cobbles need to be half the size.
    - the blossom should be thicken the higher it is up the tree in terms of number. show more of the lower branches. Make smaller planes for the blossom as well.
    - Put some moss. darker cracks into the wood.
    - Darken the ceiling and put in those cool looking beams in the foreground. Some nice detail there.
    - Soften the shadows. Place in MULTIPLE light sources. There is also a reflection from the rain so bear that in mind.
    - The back buildings roofs need to be higher, this is characteric of the architecture of the time.
    - ....to add to that make the awning/overhang part of the roof bend in the middle slightly and the corners come up a tad.
    - the lanterns look cool you ahve those spot on, but not sure about the fire flies, namely green ones.
    - there is a path leading off upwards in the background, maybe inplement this.

Some good work, will like to see this when it is finished.
  • yodude87
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    yodude87 polycounter lvl 5