Home Unreal Engine

Creating a custom Prism node (HLSL)

polycount lvl 666
Offline / Send Message
PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
I've been trying to wrap my head around how to write a simple custom node in UDK for the last two days with no success. What I want to do is make a node that will separate the red channel from any sample run through it.

I have no experience with custom nodes in UDK, and just started learning HLSL, so please no psedo code.

Replies

• leslievdb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    leslievdb polycounter lvl 15
    Set your customnode output type to CMOT_Float1
    define a name for your input and then use the code below with ofcourse the inputname changed to the one you gave
    float1(Inputname.r)

is that what you mean?
  • Vailias
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vailias polycounter lvl 18
    Why not just use a channel mask node?
  • PolyHertz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
    wow...You just did what I've been trying to figure out for two days in one line...I hate you so much right now :poly121:

fake edit:
    Actually now I'm wondering how you'd offset the channel with a second input for the texture coordinates? and is it possible to have multiple outputs on a custom node?

Vailias: Because I want to be able to offset the channels UVs each after theyve been separated, and I don't know how to do that with the built-in nodes (I'm all ears though), plus it gives me an excuse to spend a while trying to learn the basics of hlsl.
  • sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    PolyHertz wrote: »
    Vailias: Because I want to be able to offset the channels UVs each after theyve been separated, and I don't know how to do that with the built-in nodes (I'm all ears though), plus it gives me an excuse to spend a while trying to learn the basics of hlsl.