Home General Discussion

Coming out of final year - Portfolio

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
Wesley polycounter lvl 13
Hey there folks, I know this type of thread must have been created quite a few times, but if you're able to help me out I'd much appreciate it. Essentially I'm coming out of university in a year from a games design course. Now... I've read plenty of threads about degrees versus self-taught and just having that portfolio - this isn't about that. I'm aware that my degree, in all reality, means very little to these companies and it's all about my portfolio. And this is what this thread is about as well.

Essentially I have no work right now that I'd wanna put into my portfolio - I do have a couple of WIPs that I do want to take to that level, but nothing that far ahead yet. So basically I'm asking about what I should put into my portfolio. I wanna go into environment/prop stuff - I know that's where most of the jobs are and I love working with that kind of stuff now. So what should I make? I have one year, but realistically with other course commitments I have a sixth of that time, to work on 3D portfolio things. What should I focus on? Most people around me are starting on a single environment and are going to try and make it as polished as possible. But then I've seen some really amazing portfolios (especially Scott Homer's) that, although might have an environment, seem to focus on singular things; a really nice vehicle, building, weapon, etc. So is it best to spend time on a big environment or go for "bits"? Going for the latter seems like a much more achievalbe task, letting me focus on showing off certain skills and showing different styles. But without a fully made environment am I screwed?