Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UDK - Mine Level -WIP

This is my first attempt at designing a level in UDK. It is to be a indoor/outdoor level. The outdoor portion will be what you see in the image below. The indoor portion will be mine tunnels running through the terrain. This level is going to be the deleiverable for two different college classes, Level design and Special FX. The textures were created in Genetica and Crazybump. The water is simply UDK premade particle system and water material that i put in to get an idea on the waterfall and river but will be replaced later. Please feel free to offer any criticism or tips, that's what i'm here for. Thanks
MineWIP1.jpg

Replies

• toxicclowd
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok, it's been a few weeks and I've gotten some progress. I've done some tweaking on the terrain. Placed some trees and grass(which needs redone with the new foliage system:( ) I've built some mine shafts but they're not ready to be shown since for one they're not lit, and two they're really basic right now. I've added a mesh for the waterfall and added some more particle effects. I havnt really messed with lighting too much other than adding a Dominant Directional Light to get some shadows, my lighting really needs rebuilt but it seems like it's going to take days just to do a preview build, so if anyone has some tips for optimizing lighting in open outdoor levels, please feel free to give any advice. I've got three weeks to finish this up for class and I've still got a lot of modeling and other stuff to do so hopefully i can get 'r done. Anyway Thanks in advance for the input.
    WIPWeek6.jpg

WIPWeek62.jpg

WIPWeek64.jpg

WIPWeek65.jpg

WIPWeek66.jpg

WIPWeek67.jpg

WIPWeek63.jpg
  • downarmy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    downarmy polycounter lvl 7
    Holy speed tree BATMAN!!!

Just a trick try to use more of your content and less what comes with udk, it will be more personal and more unique.
  • polygonfreak