Home General Discussion

How important are my final grades for application?

Hey all! ^^

I'm a 19 years old student in my final year at school and after that i want to study game design. However my grades are at what would be a D in american schools . I don't really worry about them being too bad for studying but if i'd apply for a job in gamedesign how important would my final grades actually be?

It's really important for me to get a quick answer because if it matters (what i don't hope) i would repeat this year and hope for better grades

Replies

• EmAr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    EmAr polycounter lvl 18
    I don't think it matters. But just to define your question better, where do you live? Do you plan to work abroad?
  • mdeforge
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mdeforge polycounter lvl 14
    Not very.

I have to keep this quick because I'm on my lunch break but consider the following.

1) It's quite possible to skip college and, just by portfolio alone, land a job in the industry. I do not recommend this approach though. It's a high octane industry and having a degree to fall back on for other things is a good idea.

2) Speaking of which, I would advise you to not get a game centered degree. The games industry is hard to break into and it's only a fraction of what you can apply design talent to.

3) High school grades don't matter unless you're trying to get into a good college. I was a C/low B averate in High School and got accepted to a local college for animation. Don't pay out the ass for an expensive school... just get that piece of paper called a degree that certifies you can learn and do the learning yourself.

4) Grades in college? I doubt they look much at those either. It's all about portfolio.