Home General Discussion

Wish I was a Character Modeler!

Whats up,

I was looking for a point in the right direction. I want a J.O.B in character modeling. I am currently modeling with 3DS Max. I am very comfortable with this program. ZBrush is great it’s a very fluid way to model. I just need to learn the interface better. I don't know how to bake my mesh into a UV map yet. I grasp rigging very well. I also enjoy animating.

To be a modern character modeler for video games or film what do I need to know. Does a current modeler rig their own model? Also are they expected to be a good animator?

I do want to be all of these things but I also have to be realistic and focus on what’s going to get me the J.O.B that I'm looking for.

This brings me to my question. What do I need to know to be a Character Modeler for video games or film? What Programs do I need to have master as well as be familiar with?

Sorry for the long post I appreciate any help in this subject.

Replies

• Psyk0
    Offline / Send Message
    Psyk0 polycounter lvl 18
    Most important aspect you should master is anatomy.
  • jarrede
    Offline / Send Message
    jarrede polycounter lvl 7
    Psyk0 wrote: »
    Most important aspect you should master is anatomy.

agreed :)
  • moose
    Offline / Send Message
    moose polycount sponsor
    Instead of thinking about it like "in order to be a good character modeller i need to know 3ds Max and zbrush really well," I would learn the subject matter. Knowing modelling packages is like understanding how a pencil works, it's required that you have an understanding of how to use them but they are a means to an end - proficiency does not instantly mean the artwork produced in them is good.

It helps, sure, but you should focus on learning anatomy, physiology, characteristics and traits of your subject matter you want to model - and then apply that knowledge to building things using the tools.