Home Unreal Engine

normal map in UDK question

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Muttt polycounter lvl 11
Hi, I'm new to Polycount. I have a question about why my normal map doesn't show up on my model in UDK like it does in Maya. I've been making the most simple models just to get the basics of lowpoly modeling and transfer maps down, but any feedback would still be appreciated.

Here is my simple file cabinet modeled in Maya.
filecab_screenshot2.jpg
filecab_screenshot3.jpg

A lot of detail is lost when it goes into UDK
filecab_screenshot.jpg

Is there something I'm doing wrong or do I just need to change my workflow to preview in UDK first?

Replies

• Oniram
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oniram polycounter lvl 17
    it actually looks fine, it just seems like you arent matching the lighting correctly.. it looks sort of like its being diffuse lit. id suggest 2 things.

1. it doesnt look like you have any ambient occlusion in the model, which helps a lot for game-rez stuff, it helps with the detail.

2. use smoothing groups when you export. im not sure how you export from maya but if there is a smoothing groups option.. use it.
  • Muttt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Muttt polycounter lvl 11
    Thanks for your response Oniram. Does that mean I should mix in my ambient occlusion map with my diffuse? I thought that Lightmass did its own ambient occlusion, so I should use both?
  • LMP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LMP polycounter lvl 13
    Really Important. Are you flipping the green channel before importing into UDK when it looks light in Maya?

You will need to do this because UDK uses the green channel opposite of how maya uses it. And that is what I think may be your biggest issue right now.
  • Oniram
    Options
    Offline / Send Message