Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] – Chris Martin/CMart (Asset Artist)

Hey PC,
I recently graduated from collage and am currently perusing a job in games. I have been working on rebuilding my website and updating my work. I would love to hear critique about both my website and the work on it. Ive been working with a new layout for my website and I'm trying to go with something that i can use with my windows phone as well as on a website and both allow for a professional look where i can display my work. I would also love any input on how to make my website or work look more professional. I mostly work with Maya and have been learning lighting mostly on my own after i graduated from collage, but I feel most of the models are well light, but I still have a few errors ( see. Paris Landscape video). Popping with the lighting as I animate a physical sun light across a curve. I hope soon to get my auto repair shop done. I've heard its good to have an environment for your assets so I'm working to make an environment to fit the primary assets.
I look forward to seeing what everyone has to say and that you Adam for getting me approved and able to post!

www.chrismartin-cmart.com

Replies

• achillesian
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    1. make basic images of each asset easy to get to, perspective view first, then things like wireframe, textures, flybys secondary.

2. show images in engine, showing mental ray renders doesn't help you a lot when you're looking for a job in the real time industry. Maybe divide your site into real time assets and movie assets.

3. The quality of the car and guns seem fairly good, but I didn't see a low poly for either of them.

4. Regarding your environments they are lacking organic material, and high poly zbrush type sculpting. The gaming industry no longer uses the crazybump method much for their normal maps.