Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Salt Flat Bike

beefskewr
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
beefskewr polycounter lvl 8
Hey all,
I am a first semester student lookin for a little crit. This is a cycle I am modeling for extra credit and possibly a portfolio piece. It is going to be loosely based on a bike called Goldmember, which is a salt flat bike. I still have a ways to go on the model. I have to add the chain, primary, gauges, battery, supercharger, exhaust and several other hoses. I am thinkin fo adding head and tail lights. I threw some shaders on it for now because thats how the help I have had was available.

bike.jpg
bike.jpg[/IMG]bike5.jpg
bike4.jpg
bike3.jpg

Let me know what you think, I have a ways to go like I said, any tips can only make me better.

Thanks for looking.

Replies

• Razgriz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Razgriz keyframe
    Well, the bad news is that this is nowhere near the quality you want to put in a portfolio. It's not game-art right now, the render is a bit lousy and default-materialish, and the model lacks detail, interest, and functionality. I would really recommend searching the forums for others who have worked on bikes and cycles, looking at their process, how they use reference, and how their topology is laid out. The most obvious problem with the bike right now is that it seems you're making it up out of your head, which is a big no-no. Use concept art, or photo-reference for everything, especially at this stage in your modeling development.